Home > Standing Committees > Children's & Young Adult Services Committee (CAYASC)

Children's & Young Adult Services Committee (CAYASC)

1. Provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and information relevant to the effective delivery of library services to Spanish speaking children in the United States.
2. Addresses specific issues relevant to the effective delivery of library services such as the use of traditional measures which may result in inequitable and discriminatory allocation of resources, collection development policies which incorporate relevant criteria to the needs of Spanish speaking families, and the lack of Spanish speaking children’s librarians and managers.
3. Serves as the liaison to the Association of Library Services to Children (ALSC), specifically in issues that are related to the Pura Belpre award. From January to June of each year, plans, organizes, and coordinates the Celebration for the Pura Belpre Award Ceremony.
4. Explores and encourages cooperative programming and sponsorship with ALSC and other organization within ALA charged with providing services to Latino/a youth.
5. Establishes and publishes “Guidelines for Spanish Language Collection Development for Children.”
6. Explore alliances and partnerships with other youth-serving organizations, such as the National Association for Bilingual Education (NABE), the California Association for Bilingual Education (CABE), National Council of La Raza (NCLR), and the Children’s Defense Fund.

Noche de Cuentos

Goals and 
Objectives: 2014-15
  • Under Development


Lucia Gonzalez, Co-Chair
Celia Perez, Co-Chair
Lucia Gonzalez, Co-Chair
Celia Perez, Co-Chair
Oralia Garza de Cortes
Ana Pavon 
Jamie Campbell Naidoo
Ruth Tobar 
Teresa Mlawer
Eric Gomez
Jean Hatfield
Katie Scherrer 
Abby Morales
Alicia Long
Anna Coats
Maria Mena
Amanda Sharpe
Rebecca Hickman
Lyn Miller-Lachmann
Maggie Sepulveda
Cynthia Palacios
Susan Paredes
Freda Mosquera
Robin Kurz
Patty Ramirez
Edwin Rodarte
Pat Toney
Saroj Ghoting
Alexandra Gomez
Breanna Feliciano
Michelle Lerman
Suagm Orlando
Ivelisse Maldonado
Jean Mcallister
Catherine Mcullen
Celia Mendez
Marissa Alcorta
Stefanie Bailey
Cynthia Bautista
Roxana Benavides
Gladys Navarro-Berrios
Julia Casa
Isabel Castro
Yanira Vegerano Cruz
Laura F. Duncan

Get Involved
Volunteer applications for REFORMA national committees are accepted from February 1 - April 15 for service the following committee term, which begins July. Vist http://www.reforma.org/volunteer for more information and a link to the volunteer form.