Felicidades to Former REFORMA President Loida Garcia Febo
Thursday, June 13, 2013
by: Sandra Rios Balderrama

Section: Felicidades!

June 2013

Loida Garcia Febo was appointment to the Governing Board of IFLA, The International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions, which is elected by library people around the world.  Loida came in at number 7 with the votes, as you will see below. 
REFORMA is proud of Loida's accomplishments and her ongoing connection to and with REFORMA, National and the Northeast Chapter. Former President Loida took an active role with increasing the presence of National REFORMA on social media, creating international REFORMA alliances with IFLA and a stronger alliance with the ALA Intellectual Freedom Committee. She is currently the Chair of the National REFORMA Legislative Committee. 

A Personal Message from Loida: 

Dear colleagues:

I am deeply honored and truly humbled to have been elected by IFLA members to serve in the IFLA Governing Board. I look forward to continue working with IFLA Members, Partners and Staff to develop strong libraries for equal and innovative societies worldwide. Advocacy, Multicultural Populations, Membership, Technological Innovation, New Librarians and Strengthening IFLA are among my top priorities. 


I thank you for your confidence Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North, Central and South America!


Loida García Febo


Complete announcement, here.

IFLA has pleasure in announcing the result of the postal ballot for the election of the Governing Board 2013:


Name and Number of votes

1.  Kent Skov Andreasen (Denmark) 2nd term 999
2.   Inga Lundén (Sweden) 2nd term 996
3.   Barbara Lison (Germany) 2nd term 995
4.   Gloria Pérez-Salmerón (Spain) 875
5.   Ingrid Bon (Netherlands) 2nd term 51
6.   Ellen Ndeshi Namhila (Namibia) 825
7.   Loida Garcia-Febo (United States) 819
8.   Frédéric Blin (France) 2nd term 803
9.  Genevieve Clavel-Merrin (Switzerland) 2nd term 780
10. Ngian Lek Choh (Singapore) 769

There are 10 vacancies for elected places on the Governing Board. The first 10 candidates in order of the number of votes cast are therefore elected. They are indicated in the list above. They serve on the Governing Board for the term 2013-2015.

Post a Comment