Member Login

Forgot your password? Click Here.
Not a member? Join Now!

Home > Awards & Scholarships > Estela and Raul Mora Award 2014

Estela and Raul Mora Award 2014

REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-speaking, invites applications for the 2014 Mora Award. The Award is presented annually to the most exemplary celebration of El día de los niños/El día de los libros (Children’s Day/Book Day), or El día de los jovenes/ El día de los libros (Youth Day/Book Day), also known as Día. Annual, culminating celebrations are held across the country on or near April 30. Libraries, schools, educational institutions, and other youth-serving organizations that plan and implement Día programs in 2014 are eligible to submit an application by August 15, 2014.

The Estela and Raúl Mora Award was established by author and poet Pat Mora and her siblings in honor of their parents and to promote El día de los niños/El día de los libros. The Mora Award consists of a $1,000 stipend and a plaque to be displayed in a public area by the winning institution(s).

REFORMA is Día’s founding partner and its members serve as judges for the Award. Pat Mora and REFORMA believe Día is a daily commitment to link all children to books, languages, and cultures. Annual, culminating celebrations are held across the country on or near April 30. Día is now housed at the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA).

Click here to download the 2014 Mora Award application

Click here for a brief history of Día

Mora Award recipients

Arizona State University / English Education Department
Press Release

Lynden Public Library 
Press release

Santa Ana Public Library
Springfield Public Library
Press release

Arthur F. Turner Community Library of Yolo County Library
Pima County Library
Santa Barbara Public Library System
Press Release

San Francisco Public Library
Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library

Riverside County Library System
Public Library of Charlotte/Mecklenburg County

2007 Broward County Library

2006 Kenton County Public Library

2005 REFORMA de Utah

2004 Providence Public Library

2003 Corvallis-Benton County Public Library

2002 Multnomah County Library

2001 El Paso Public Library

2000 Austin Public Library

Members of the 2014 Mora Award committee

Lupita Vega
Mora Award Committee Chair
Emily Ziglinski
Lise Tewes
Anna Coats
Tracy Flores

For additional information, please contact:
Lupita Vega