2012 Reforma National Scholarship Recipients


Date:              June 18, 2012
Contact:         Salvador Avila, (702) 507-3770
                        REFORMA Scholarship Committee Member


Las Vegas, NV – The REFORMA National Scholarship Committee is excited to announce the recipients of this year’s scholarship. The future of librarianship looks very promising as the calibers of this year’s winners demonstrate a great talent pool. The five (5) winners are: Jade B. Torres- Morrison, Brenda Carrillo, Karen Orellana, Claire Bartlett, and Alexandra Doval.
The winners of this coveted REFORMA scholarship is a true testament that libraries are in good hands. REFORMA is proud to select these five members and hope that their talent and skills will champion and advance librarianship for Latinos and Spanish speakers. REFORMA is very confident that they will create public value in whatever field of librarianship they enter and in whatever type of institution they join.
In addition, the Rose Treviño Memorial Scholarship was created to pay tribute to the many contributions that Rose Treviño did for the profession. In the spirit and memory of Rose Treviño, the REFORMA National Scholarship Committee has selected Karen Orellana from the Gwinnett County Public Library in Suwanne, Georgia for her advocacy and commitment to children and young adults.
Each scholarship recipient will receive $1,500 to be used toward attending an accredited Library and Information School. Congratulations once again to Jade, Brenda, Karen, Claire, and Alexandra.
The REFORMA National Scholarship Committee members are Mary Donley, Delores Carlito, and Salvador Avila. Beatriz Guevara will join this committee in 2013.
The REFORMA National Scholarship Committee will post the 2013 application and all corresponding deadlines on the REFORMA web page, http://www.reforma.org/, on January 1, 2013.