The winners will be honored at the REFORMA National Conference VII Virtual.
The LOTY Award is presented annually by REFORMA to recognize a librarian who has distinguished himself or herself in the field of librarianship, promoted and advocated services to the Spanish-speaking and Latino communities, and made outstanding contributions to REFORMA.

2021 LOTY Award Winners: 2020 LOTY Award Winner The Elizabeth Martinez Lifetime Achievement Award (LAA) was created to recognize those who have achieved excellence in librarianship over an extended (over 20 years) period of service and who have made significant and lasting contributions to REFORMA, as well as to the Latino and the Spanish-speaking communities.

2021 LAA Award Winner 2020 LAA Award Winners Our winners will be honored virtually at our 7th REFORMA National Conference this fall and the details of the event will be shared at a later time.

REFORMA thanks the 2020 & 2021 Awards Selection Committee:
  • Mary Marques, Library Coordinator, Free Library of Philadelphia. Chair.
  • Kenny Garcia, Research & Instruction Librarian, California State University.
  • Oscar Baeza, Head Librarian Associate Professor, El Paso Community College.
  • Madeline Peña, Senior Librarian, Digital Content Team, Emerging Technologies & Collections Division, Los Angeles Public Library.
  • Haydee Hodis, Supervisor, Brightwood Branch, Springfield City Library.
Press Releases can be found at